lemlist alternatives

lemlist prices per user and ships an MCP server on every plan. Five alternatives compared on what per-user pricing costs a growing team, and what you give up leaving.

An admin approves every new account by hand. Nothing is created until then. We reply by email; no newsletter, no sequence.

Want to see it first? Book a demo

app.salescrew.io/deals
Pipeline with weighted forecast and stage breakdown

Switch if per-user pricing has outgrown the value, since a five-person team pays five times the headline. Before you move, check your monthly send volume and whether an AI client runs your sequences today.

The short answer

  • lemlist is priced per user: $69 a month monthly or $55 annually for the Email plan, $109 or $87 for Multichannel. The entry number is not the bill for a team, and this is the most common misreading of its pricing.
  • The Email plan includes 50,000 emails a month, which dwarfs Smartlead's 6,000 and Instantly's 5,000 at their entry tiers. Price it per sender, not per plan, before you compare.
  • lemlist advertises an MCP server on every plan. In a category where most vendors advertise none and several gate the plain API behind a higher tier, that is genuinely differentiated.

How we compared these

Prices, allowances and access gates come from each vendor's own pricing page, checked in September 2026, not from review sites. One row carries a range rather than a figure: Clay's own pricing cards and its own FAQ state different starting prices on the same page, so picking one would mean choosing which of the vendor's own numbers to believe.

Evaluated from lemlist's own documentation and pricing, September 2026. Everything below is checkable against its site.

The table is arranged around cost shape rather than features, because cost shape is what separates these tools. Per-user, per-volume and per-contact pricing produce wildly different bills for the same amount of email, and the feature lists are close to identical.

lemlist and its alternatives, compared

lemlistSmartleadInstantlyApolloCloseSalesCrew
Entry paid priceEmail $69/mo monthly, $55/mo annual, per userBase $39/mo monthly, $32.50/mo annualGrowth $47/mo outreach only; $94/mo monthly for the Starter bundle$49 per seat/mo billed annuallySolo $9 per user/mo annual, $19 monthly$299/mo flat, unlimited seats
Cost for five people$275/mo annually billed$32.50/mo. Not per user$47/mo. Not per user$245/mo annually billed$45/mo annually billed$299/mo, and the same at fifty
Monthly send allowance at entry50,000 emails6,000 sends, 2,000 contacts5,000 emails, 1,000 uploaded contacts250 sends a day, 1 mailbox per userSending plus calling, no stated capYour own mailbox pool with per-account and per-domain caps
Multichannel stepsYes, on the $109 plan, 5 senders per userEmail focusedEmail focusedEmail focusedEmail and callingEmail, LinkedIn queue, SMS and call tasks, inbound
API on the entry planYesNo. Unlimited Smart at $174/mo and aboveAdvertised; per-tier gating not statedNo. Custom plans onlyYesYes, on every tier
Official MCP serverYes, on all plansNot advertisedNot advertisedNot advertisedYes, three permission scopesYes. Every UI action has an MCP twin
Where the reply becomes a dealElsewhere. You sync itElsewhereElsewhereIn Apollo, within its capsIn CloseIn the same database the send came from

Figures checked on vendor pricing pages, September 2026.

The field, ranked for a team leaving lemlist

1. Instantly

The direct answer to per-user pricing: volume-based plans and unlimited email accounts on its outreach tiers, so headcount stops driving the bill. Best for: teams that grew past two or three senders. Not for: anyone who relied on lemlist's MCP access, which Instantly does not advertise.

Read more

2. Smartlead

The cheapest entry in the category at $39 a month, priced by contacts and sends rather than by user. Watch the API gate at $174. Best for: cost-driven teams with several senders. Not for: anyone building an integration on the entry tier.

Read more

3. SalesCrew

Unlimited seats at one flat price, so a growing team costs nothing extra, with cadences on your own mailbox pool, suppression enforced at freeze and at send, and the reply landing in the same Postgres database as the pipeline. API and MCP on every tier. Best for: teams whose per-user outbound bill now rivals a CRM's. Disclosure: SalesCrew is our product.

Read more

4. Close

If the honest problem is that you are paying an outbound tool and a CRM separately, Close does both at $9 a user annually with calling included and a well-scoped MCP server. Best for: small teams who want one bill. Not for: high-volume sending or large lists, since Solo caps at 10,000 leads.

Read more

5. Apollo

Bundles a B2B database with a sequencer at $49 a seat annually, so it replaces both lemlist and whatever you buy data from. Best for: teams whose list is as much a problem as the sending. Not for: volume, given the 250-a-day cap on Basic, or API access below Custom plans.

Read more

What to check before you switch

Check your monthly send volume per account. lemlist's entry plan allows fifty thousand emails a month. That is roughly eight times Smartlead's allowance and ten times Instantly's Growth tier. If one person sends at that volume, price the tier you'd need on the cheaper tools, not their entry plan.

Check where the API and MCP sit on each plan. lemlist offers both on every plan. Smartlead puts the API on a $174 tier, and Instantly does not state its gating. Neither advertises an MCP server. If an AI client runs your sequences today, confirm the new tool gives it the same access on the plan you'll buy.

List your multichannel steps. lemlist's $109 plan puts LinkedIn steps beside email in one sequence, with five senders per user. Count the LinkedIn steps in your live cadences and plan where each one runs after the move.

Questions

What does lemlist cost for a team?
It is priced per user, which is the number to model before anything else. The Email plan is listed at $69 per user per month billed monthly, or $55 billed annually, with 50,000 emails a month, as of September 2026. Multichannel is $109 monthly or $87 annually and adds five senders per user. A five-person team on the Email plan is $275 a month annually billed, which is a different conversation than $55.
Is lemlist's MCP server actually useful?
It is the most notable thing on its pricing page. lemlist advertises MCP server access on every plan, where most outbound vendors advertise none at all and several gate their plain API behind a higher tier. If your intent is to let an AI client run and adjust sequences, that availability is a real advantage in this category.
How does lemlist compare to Instantly and Smartlead on price?
More expensive at the entry point and shaped differently. Smartlead starts at $39 a month and Instantly's outreach-only Growth plan at $47, both priced by volume or contacts rather than per user. lemlist's 50,000 monthly emails is far more generous than either entry allowance, so price your own mix of senders and volume before you compare.
Does lemlist replace a CRM?
No, and this is the same limit every tool in the category has. It runs the sequence and detects the reply. Where the deal sits after that, what stage it reaches, and what the pipeline looks like are a separate system's job, and the sync between the two is work somebody has to own.